What makes a romance unique?

I found this article very thought provoking. What makes a book unique? I love her answers.

Love, Lust, and Laptops

I was scrolling through Facebook recently and caught a comment written by my pal Nita from The Book Chick Blog. Please give her a like when you check her out and let her know Rosanna sent you. In her post, she made a point about the lack of unique romance books, and it made me wonder.

What makes a romance novel unique? It’s a tough question. After all, romances are, by their very nature, predictable. We need to know the couple will unite at the end. We see the same predictability in mysteries. By the end of the book, the murderer must be revealed and (hopefully) punished. So, in this sense, can a romance be unique at all?

type

We do see a lot of the same romance tropes in today’s fiction, but I think audiences demand them, too. My own shape shifter series is the most popular of my…

View original post 548 more words

One thought on “What makes a romance unique?

Leave a Reply

