Women’s Day?? A Whole just for Women?? Really??

adies pink high heel stiletto shoes and rosesSo it’s International Women’s Day. I’ve seen articles and tweets about it for most of the day, but there seems to be some confusion as to what this day is really about.

Here goes: It is about celebrating Women and their freedom that comes with equality. This year’s theme is Make It Happen.

My personal life motto has always been…you have an idea? How can we make it happen? If you don’t believe me ask my husband about when he mentioned he might like to move to Corpus Christi. We were living there less than two months later. Or when he decided that he wanted to go to college and get his degree, after dropping my Dr. Pepper on the floor, we got him enrolled and four years later he graduated. So when I say I will make it happen that is what I intend to do.

Most people’s biggest misconception about this day is that we are just celebrating women. Now don’t get me wrong, I am proud to be a woman. It’s not like I don’t know that I am a woman. We celebrate several holidays that are reminders to honor people that have done great things. There is no need for everyone to wonder exactly what those holidays are celebrating. So why do I feel I need a day for people to remind me that I am a woman? Isn’t that what Mother’s Day is for?

Everyone doesn’t know that some or many (Not all or even most women because there are quite a few strong role models out there.) women have no choices or options available to them. While this day might be about equality in the work place for most, it is really about freedom to me. Freedom to be able to walk down the street safely without being accosted or taunted. Freedom to be able to sleep at night without someone coming into or being in your home threating your life or well being. Freedom to make decisions that will change your life.

For me this day is about those that are victims past, present or future. There are many strong women out there are that continually told that they are worthless or not able to be something better. There are those that tell them, they can’t live their dreams or grow to be the role models that we all aspire to become. This day is to remind women everywhere that they can make it happen. So for everyone that has been ignored or unheard, this day is for you. I hope and believe that you will have the courage to stand up to those that tell you, you can’t or try to crush your dream. Take your freedoms and make it happen so that we can change the future. I hope that in the future there will be fewer women who that don’t know what it means to be truly free.

So encourage the women, teens and girls around you that they are special, worthy and needed for our world to become a better place for all of us to live in.

Leave a Reply

