Accomplished: That feeling of satisfaction.

When I come to the end of a long day, I always evaluate how great a day it was by how much I got done. If I still have a long to-do list, but the entire house is clean then I feel accomplished. Most days I have a revolving to-do list with the top priorities that are urgent to the things I would like to get done that day.

I have learned through the years that the more I have scheduled; the more that I get to take off my list. When I am hurrying from thing to thing, I tend to be better organized and multitask more to make sure that everything gets done. When I don’t have a lot to do, I wind up having spent the entire day reading a book or playing facebook games, but the laundry hasn’t been done. Not that reading a book or leveling up on the computer are not important tasks in my life goals or anything, they just don’t count toward my children having clean clothes for school the next day.

Lately, I have been trying to become more involved in the world around me because I just didn’t have enough going on with a business to run, book to write and three children to manage.

I have started volunteering twice a month at the local recycle center. Now nine months later, I have another child to worry about since no one else wants to be responsible for the recycle center and I can’t just let it become overrun with donations.

I have also committed to a leadership team of 14 people to learn about and do a community project that will benefit our county. It has been interesting to learn about all the components of a small rural community and how much each person actually contributes to the whole picture.

Now, I have gotten pulled into the local genealogy group to do their facebook and webpages since most of the women on the board don’t even have an email address. I just hope that they know what we are doing to advertise for them.

I want to join the quilt guild and work on my many unfinished quilt tops so I am trying to squeeze that in once a month. If I can get my current one done, I’ll post a picture of it.

With all of this on my plate, I am beginning to think that I need to say no to any new people because they that are pulling me away from my reading and writing time. Instead, these past few months I have completed things that I had on my want list for some far date in the future. Now, while I don’t think I can really add anything else to my full plate, I am going to take advantage of this overwhelming list of tasks to make sure that they are all finished so that I can have that wonderful feeling of satisfaction.

Instead of looking at the whole picture and being depressed that it will never get done, I simply prioritize the next day so that I can get the most out of it possible. There are some days that you just have to say screw it, tomorrow is a fresh day with no cliffhangers. No plot twists that leave you scrambling, yet twists are sometimes the best plots because they have unexpected outcomes.

So while I may not have crossed off the to-do list today, I am full of satisfaction that my life’s dash on my tombstone will be filled in with the words, “It was never boring”. I am off to bed after a full day of working on my office, laundry and social media advertising. Tomorrow is a new day for the rest of my story to write itself, I can sleep in satisfaction.

Leave a Reply

