What writing does for me.

writing paragraph I found this cartoon as I was working on my NaNoWriMo project. I feel like this everytime I get a few paragraphs that work well together. Yea, me. I wrote the world’s best selling three paragraphs. This happens to me when I actually get to sit down at the computer. I realize that the entire novel be composed of great paragraphs, but when that one scene comes together it does feels great. Then reality comes to visit and I crash back to earth knowing that I have to actually finish writing the whole novel first. It seems to be a rollercoaster of ups and downs depending on who gives you that uplifting word or the depressing statement about why you did something to your novel.

The whole point of writing a novel is to express a point of view about a story. Some people write simply to make money and while that would be wonderful, I feel the need to express the ideas that have been hanging out in my brain for months. The ideas just need a way to get on the paper and then out to the public.

So far one of the biggest questions I have gotten asked repeatedly, is why would you want to write? Well for me personally there is so much that needs to be said. Yes, I know others have written books before me, so wouldn’t they have already used that idea you ask? They may have, but I know there is always room for improvement no matter how overdone the story is. I tend to look at the world through a unique point of view so I might have more humor to add to a scene or a little sass for when times get tough. While the characters of my stories will probably fall in love, they will go through hard times to get there. Real life is never easy so why should the stories that I write be all daisies and butterflies? It doesn’t have to be and that is what makes writing so much fun.

I have found over the past several months as I have been writing that I really miss the outlet that comes from writing when I don’t write for a few days. I have always been a reader and when I go for a few days or as long as a week without reading my mood becomes nasty. Now, I also have these moments when I haven’t written in a few days. The best way to describe it is an outlet to express what I am feeling or thinking when I have to keep all of my thoughts and ideas inside so that I don’t offend the people that I am working with. If I always speak my thoughts, then the customers wouldn’t want to come back and I would be out of a job. Since I have to keep a lot of that bottled up, writing is one way to express what is going on in my life without anyone saying that my ideas are wrong or shocking.

When you are able to express what is on the inside, it makes being yourself a much easier accomplishment. So if you hear a scream of excitement, don’t think that my novel is finished. Just know that it was a really great paragraph that needed to be written.

Leave a Reply

