Life after the Pirates.

I have had a bad week, if you could call it just a week. I have realized that I have a lot to be thankful for even during this bad time. I am so thankful that all I lost were some papers and pictures. While I will miss them, it is not the end of the world because I have my three precious children and husband still with me. The pictures would have been nice to help us remember all the fun that has happened over the years, but we could have lost so much more. People survive fires, floods, tornadoes and hurricanes with nothing, but the clothes on their backs. I think that I can survive the computer Pirates that thought they needed them more than we did.

I was beginning to have a pity party because of all that I had lost, when I realized that this experience was a good one. I can be thankful that I have learned to back up my work so that when it is more important later on in my career something like this would be completely devastating.

Then I discovered that I had managed to back up the last books that I had been working on, when I thought it had all been lost. The knot in my stomach has melted in relief. It is like the huge stone that was on my back and I didn’t even know that it was there. Now that it is gone I feel such relief.

So thank you Pirates that did this for showing me that my family is more important than stuff that we all hold onto. I felt like a piece of me had been lost that was irreplaceable. It was just parts of stories that I was thinking and working on over the last ten years, but they were part of me.

I didn’t lose my home or my family so I am very thankful during this holiday season for those blessings. I will be looking for things that I have taken for granted in the past that I can be thankful for now. I can start working on getting back on track with my current work in process.

Thankful

Leave a Reply

